Wednesday, October 16th, 2013

College Football Playoff Announces Selection Committee

IRVING, Texas - Bill Hancock, executive director of the College Football Playoff, today announced the members of the committee that will select the four teams to compete in the first playoff.  The 13 members were unanimously chosen by the College Football Playoff Management Committee, the commissioners of the conferences overseeing the new playoff.   The playoff will begin at the end of the 2014 season.

“We wanted people of the highest integrity for this committee, and we got them.  Every one of them has vast football knowledge, excellent judgment, dedication and love for this game,” said Bill Hancock, executive director of the College Football Playoff.  “They will no doubt have one of the hardest jobs in sports.  But their skills and wide variety of experiences—from coaches and athletes to university leaders and journalists—will ensure that they will be successful.   And they are committed to investing the time and effort necessary for this endeavor.  We are grateful that they will be serving this terrific game of college football.”

The members of the selection committee are:

•        Jeff Long, vice chancellor and director of athletics, University of Arkansas-Fayetteville, Chair
•        Barry Alvarez, director of athletics,  University of Wisconsin-Madison
•        Lieutenant General Mike Gould, former superintendent of the United States Air Force Academy
•        Pat Haden, director of athletics, University of Southern California
•        Tom Jernstedt, former NCAA executive vice president
•        Oliver Luck, director of athletics, West Virginia University
•        Archie Manning, former University of Mississippi  quarterback and all-pro NFL quarterback
•        Tom Osborne, former head coach and director of athletics, University of Nebraska-Lincoln
•        Dan Radakovich, director of athletics, Clemson University
•        Condoleezza Rice, Stanford University professor, former Stanford provost and former United States Secretary of State
•        Mike Tranghese, former commissioner of the Big East Conference
•        Steve Wieberg, former college football reporter, USA Today
•        Tyrone Willingham, former head coach of three FBS institutions

The AT&T Cotton Bowl Classic joins the Rose, Sugar, Orange, Fiesta and Chick-Fil-A Bowl as bowl members of the College Football Playoff beginning in the 2014-2015 college football season. These bowls will rotate the two semifinal games as part of a new 12-year cycle. The Classic will host a semifinal game once every three years. The selection committee will determine the matchup for each of the College Football Playoff bowls.

Unlike the BCS, which uses a formula based on a combination of computer rankings and human polls to select teams, selection committee members for the new playoff will have flexibility to examine whatever data they believe is relevant to inform their decisions.  Among the many factors the committee will consider are win-loss record, strength of schedule, head-to-head results, and conference championships won.

About College Football Playoff

The College Football Playoff will begin with the 2014-15 season. A committee will select the four participating teams.  The No. 1 seed will meet No. 4, and No. 2 will face No. 3.  The semifinal games will rotate annually among bowl games in Atlanta, Dallas, Miami, New Orleans, Pasadena and Phoenix.  The first semifinals will be played January 1, 2015 at the Rose Bowl and Sugar Bowl. The first national championship game will be played January 12, 2015 at AT&T Stadium in Arlington, Texas.

Toll Free: 888-792-BOWL (2695)
One AT&T Way, Arlington, TX 76011

Dallas Morning News
Copyright 2018. Cotton Bowl Classic. All rights reserved. Design and development by Blythe Spirit Design and Development.