Monday, December 31st, 2012

John David Crow, Billy Sims To Appear At LG/AT&T Huddle Up

ARLINGTON, TEXAS — The AT&T Cotton Bowl Classic’s rich lineage of Heisman Trophy winners participating in the historic postseason game will continue with the addition of the most recent recipient, Texas A&M quarterback Johnny Manziel, who will lead the ninth-ranked Aggies against No. 11 Oklahoma on January 4th at Cowboys Stadium.

A couple of past winners, John David Crow and Billy Sims, will team up with the newest member of the exclusive fraternity to further enhance the Heisman experience for fans on game day.

Prior to kickoff of the 77th annual bowl game, Crow, who became Texas A&M’s first Heisman Trophy winner in 1957, and Oklahoma’s Sims, the 1978 recipient, will be on hand to sign autographs and meet fans during their appearances at the LG/AT&T Huddle Up. The Heisman legends will appear from 4:00-5:00 p.m. at the game-day fan fest located on the plazas at Cowboys Stadium.

Crow, an Aggie halfback who became legendary coach Paul “Bear” Bryant’s first and only Heisman winner, will greet Texas A&M fans at the LG Trophy Tent located on the East Plaza of the stadium. Sooner fans can meet Sims, one of Oklahoma’s five Heisman Trophy recipients, in the LG Trophy Tent on the West Plaza. The doors to both plazas will open at 3:00 p.m. on game day.

Fans also will have the opportunity to get their picture taken with the Heisman Memorial Trophy, which will be on prominent display at the LG/AT&T Huddle Up. During the game-day fan fest sponsored by LG and AT&T, Sooners and Aggies alike also can win prizes by participating in fun, interactive football challenges; enjoy live concerts performed by local bands; and cheer on their favorite team during school band and spirit group performances.

And when Manziel takes the field for Texas A&M during the 77th annual AT&T Cotton Bowl Classic, which kicks off at 7:00 p.m. at Cowboys Stadium, he will join seven other Heisman Trophy winners who have taken part in the game’s storied history.
The Cotton Bowl’s Heisman legacy began with SMU running back Doak Walker, who used his Trophy-worthy rushing, passing and kicking skills to propel the Mustangs to a 21-13 win over Oregon in 1948. Other Heisman Trophy winners who have competed in the AT&T Cotton Bowl Classic are Navy quarterback Roger Staubach (1963), Texas running back Earl Campbell (1977), Boston College quarterback Doug Flutie (1984), Auburn running back Bo Jackson (1985), Notre Dame wide receiver Tim Brown (1987) and Texas running back Ricky Williams (1998).

Toll Free: 888-792-BOWL (2695)
One AT&T Way, Arlington, TX 76011

Dallas Morning News
Copyright 2018. Cotton Bowl Classic. All rights reserved. Design and development by Blythe Spirit Design and Development.